Led lights and mushrooms

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lobo

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I just got a Marineland Double Bright Led light for my 10g FOWLR... Could it be ok to ad some shrooms with this lightning and tank size? This lights look pretty bright in this small tank but I'm a rookie. Please advise!

Most zoas need medium light and medium circulation. Mushrooms have better sucess in medium light and mild circulation

SteveFishman said:
How many watts is your light???

(6) 1 watt daylight and (3) 1 watt lunar light whit a potency of 450 lumens

That's not that much but some zoas and mushrooms could make it..... Remember to cycle the tank first.

SteveFishman said:
That's not that much but some zoas and mushrooms could make it..... Remember to cycle the tank first.

Tank is cycled... My parameters are ammonia 0, ph 8.2, nitrites 0, nitrates 40 ppm... Nitrates are a bit high would the shrooms make it with 40 ppm? I'm trying as hard as I can to lower the level nut the PWC and 50% PWC doesn't seems to work even a bit...

Yeah high nitrates are a sign of the tank still cycling I would wait for them to drop down to zero and then do another pwc wait about a week and then if they are at zero slowly start to add them I would not buy more than one at a time

SteveFishman said:
Yeah high nitrates are a sign of the tank still cycling I would wait for them to drop down to zero and then do another pwc wait about a week and then if they are at zero slowly start to add them I would not buy more than one at a time

Actually nitrates are a good thing. Not that high of course. Its nitrite that he would have if not cycled.

Tank is been running for 2 months now isn't it suppose to be cycled yet?

Your readings indicate yes. You still need to get rid of those nitrates though. PWC is the only way to do it.