maze/platygyra coral question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kurt_Nelson

Aquarium Advice Addict
OK... I'll add a picture to this thread once it gets approved in the gallery, but until then here's my question.

I've got a flat, plate type playtgyra (maze) coral that was encrusted over a flat saucer shaped rock when I bought it. I've got that rock/coral sitting about a 1/3 the way off the bottom of my tank, on a flat shelf of one of my rocks. It seems really happy there, as it's visibly growing closer and closer to the edge of it's original rock home. Looking at it tonight, it's starting to grow over the edge of it's rock. I've got maybe a 1/2" gap between it's rock and my live rock that it's sitting on. (Yeah... I know a picture will help here - it coming!)

I'm totally new to this coral thing and I'm wondering how it's going to continue growing? Is it going to curl over the edge of it's rock and continue growing on the bottom side? Or is it going to hang off the edge and span that gap between rocks - eventually encrusting the two rocks together, and continuing to grow onto my live rock? (That'd be cool!)

Any insight out there?

I'd say it will encrust it's rock, and eventually build up enough skeleton to bridge the gap. It will not grow on the underside of a rock due to lack of lighting. The pic will definitely help though

Thanks Lindsay... here's the photos:

DSC04946-1.JPG

DSC04948-1.JPG

The gap isn't as big as it looks in the picture. The photos are kind of shot from below, so it exagerated the gap. (No... that's not a whisker in the one picture - it's a feeler from my cleaner shrimp that molted yesterday. And yes... my Nemo is a big camera hog.)