Need ph help in a hurry

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Brenden

Aquarium Advice Addict
My ph will not stay above 7.9 I dosed with seachem 8.3 buffer and get ph up to around 8.24 and in less than 24 hours it is back down to 7.9 What should I do? Is baking soda safe to increase ph? If so how much? I have 350 lbs of live rock coming in on Wed. of this week should I cancel order until I figure this out?
parameters are
alk 3
ca 550 ppm
nitrites 0
nitrates 0
ammonia 0

Your Calcium is a bit high, which may be causing your alk to drop too. I am not an expert to the calcium/alk balance, but I do know that they are interlinked and if you bump one up the other will come down. Also do you have a glass top on the tank? Also how much circulation do you have? Don't cancel your order, 7.9 is not a BAD ph. I have 7.9 to 8.0 frequently...

Did you start your cycle yet, or have you finished? I really would not worry about the Ph too much if you still have your cycle to go through. In the mean time...add a couple of powerheads aimed at the water surface to increase surface aggitation. Remove the top if you have one.

Brenden,
Let me know what works for you, because i am having the same problem. I used the seachem buffer (gone through a whole can), and mine will move up to 8.1, then crash back down to 7.7.

Found out my salinity was real high, so perhaps you should check that... Not sure if there is a link.

Good luck and keep us posted.

[quote Remove the top if you have one.[/quote]

This is a good question. Do you have a top?

Thanks for all the tips.
I do not have a top on the tank.