Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-27-2013, 12:33 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
Alright thanks
__________________

__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 01:59 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 206
so really just a 1 gallon tank for a juvenile just purchased fish for a couple weeks?
I have an aqueon minibow1 (came with a filter) and got a betta heater for it (8w). My main tank is a ten gallon nano that is just cycling now, so when it IS ready for livestock I plan on doing a water change. Can just use the water I take out of my freshly cycled to put in my 1 gallon QT?
My only fish is going to be a clownfish, damsel, chromis OR dottyback.
__________________

__________________
10 gallon fresh + 10 gallon salt
Tmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 03:40 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
I would use a 10 gal. min. the parameters in a 1 gl. can change to fast to keep up with Dont use the freshly cycled tank water it will have very high nitrAtes
__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 03:47 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Oscarr19's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grizz View Post
I would use a 10 gal. min. the parameters in a 1 gl. can change to fast to keep up with Dont use the freshly cycled tank water it will have very high nitrAtes
+1

For tangs and larger growing fish I wouldn't use anything smaller than a 10.
__________________
Oscarr19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 04:32 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
I have a 20
__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 05:07 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 206
Ok, well I can pick up a cheapy 10g starter from LFS on sale for about 34.99. Comes with a low end filter and hood with 2 x 15w incandescent lighting, plus a 50w heater but would suffice for a QT.
__________________
10 gallon fresh + 10 gallon salt
Tmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 05:23 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
Both are good for a QT I like the 20 long it lets me qt a larger fish but any is better than none.
__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 10:13 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
Ok cool
__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 10:37 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
My tank has PH of 8
Ammonia of .25 ppm
Nitrite of 0
And nitrate of 0 ppm
Is it safe to put a fish in?
How long do I keep fish?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1330629053.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	183.0 KB
ID:	204568  
__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 12:47 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Oscarr19's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lshann14 View Post
My tank has PH of 8 Ammonia of .25 ppm Nitrite of 0 And nitrate of 0 ppm Is it safe to put a fish in? How long do I keep fish?
Ideally the filter should be fed with beneficial bacteria from an established tank, or if permanent, then the tank has to be cycled.

You can put fish in but you have to be on top of ammonia reading and be ready to do water changes when necessary. Fish should be kept in QT for 2 weeks minimum.
__________________

__________________
Oscarr19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.