Starting a 20 gal nano reef

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sir Alex

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone!
This is my first time setting up a Sw tank. Right now I have about 2 " of live sand and some crushed coral. I also have about 5 lb of live rocks (Getting more soon) with 4 mangrove plants growing off the rock. I had a penguin 330 filter on it at first but just got a aquatop cf400 uv canister filter. I was going to put two clown fish ad some striped cleaner shrim in it along with some coral and anemone eventually. Any thought or advice ?

Cool, is your tank cycled? Tell us more about your set up. Tank size, lighting? You got any power heads for water movement? Post some pics! And welcome to aa...

This is what the setup looks like. I'm still cycling it and I'm adding some fish and more live rock today. I don't have any power heads right now because the filter is really strong (370gph). The lights are T5 HO with two bulbs

Attachments

• image-2537278719.jpg
    image-2537278719.jpg
    138.8 KB · Views: 110
And the tank is only 20 gal so the filter filters the entire tank 18.5 times and hr is this to much?

If you are still cycling I would not add any fish, it is not fair on the little guys! Add all the rock you are planning on now though while you are still cycling. Do you have a test kit? Make sure you have 0 ammonia and nitrites before adding any fish. You are right to wait on the nem too, they require a established tank so def hold off on that. In time you may want to upgrade the lighting and add a bit more flow when the time comes for an anemone :)

Thank you for all the advise. What type of lights would you recommend? I was planing on adding another 10 lb of live rock do you think that will be sufficient enough?