sump question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zuzecawi

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi all! I've lots of questions, I know.
So this tank came with a sealife systems sump, but I've never had a sump before. Is it possible to overfill? Is the line on it that says waterlevel supposed to be a minimum or maximum line? Looks pretty low for a max line IMO but I'm new to this scale of things. And how noisy are these things supposed to be?

It should be the normal running level. You want to have plenty of extra roon in case of a power outage. You will get some water back siphon from the tank in the return line. This excess area in the sump needs to hold it. My refuge can use about 3 more inches of water and still be OK(under the inlet hole)

okay, now, the guy said it was a 4 gallon sump but it fits much more than that (bout 10)... I take it that's normal. How could I expand my water capacity short of buying a new sump? Seems 4 gallons to 58 is awfully small, is this reasonable or undersized?

What is your intent with the sump. It is commomnly used to increase total volume and as a place to hide unsightly equipment(skimmer, heater).
Seems 4 gallons to 58 is awfully small, is this reasonable or undersized?
If you are trying to get some nutrients removed it would be more of a refugium than a sump. A fuge would give a place for growing macroalgae and a DSB.