Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-27-2004, 12:49 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toledo
Posts: 1
Tetratec

Can I use a tetratec power filter for a saltwater aquarium?

Thanks,
Billy
__________________

__________________
BillyDollar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2004, 12:58 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663

to AquariumAdvice.com!!!

Sure you can use one, but whether you should would depend on what it's main purpose will be. IMO, it will not make a good biological filter, but will do fine for some waterflow, chemical and some mechanical filtration.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2004, 02:00 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Crete Illinois
Posts: 656
I use 2 Tetratec 500's on my 125 gal SW tank now. Other than them being a bit noisy, they work fine. Just rotate the filters like they recommend. I change mine by moving the back ones to the front and placing the new ones in the back. I also do not change "both" of the units at the same time. They get changed a week apart.

HTH

Mike
__________________
125 Gal-35 Gal Wet/Dry-Tetra-Tec PF500 HOB Filter
(3) AuquaClear 301 Powerheads-600 GPH Circulating Pump
Automatic Tempature Controller
5-6 Inch Sand Bed-200+ lbs of LR
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2004, 07:31 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 869
Send a message via ICQ to jackdp
I used one in my 20 gallon tank and it works great. Like reefrunner said they are good for flow, mechanical and chemical filtration. The tidal flow thing can be a bit touchy but when it works its almost like having a wavemaker. You can even get the heater for it and keep the inside of the tank neater. The only problem I had with it was sand ruined the impeller and I had to replace it(the impeller).
__________________
Brad C.
jackdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tetratec Power Filters physicsdude Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 20 01-30-2007 11:32 AM
Tetratec Deep Water 12 Airpump An t-iasg General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 04-18-2006 09:11 PM
TetraTec or Emperor?? Phiberop Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 02-01-2004 06:15 PM
Tetratec Filter NetBloke General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 10-09-2002 09:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.