Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-18-2004, 12:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Very Frustrated...

I hate for this to be a lengthy question but I have to explain. I chnaged my 2 year old 125 tank over to a 100 gallon about 2 months ago. Went from CC to Southdown sand 2-3 inches thick. I have about 100 lbs of LR and added another 35 lbs of base rock as well as 50 lbs of rubble rock into the sump/fuge. (Also the fuge is new too as I have Calupera (sp) growing in there now. In the 125 I NEVER added CA, buffer....nothing. I went from regular FO lighting to VHO (440) watts and immediatelty saw coraline growth that wouldnt stop. In the 125 the lights were about 2 ft off the waters surface.
Now on the 100, the same lighting system is about 2 inches off the waters surface and NO coraline growth at all. As a matter of fact the coraline has faded. All levels are perfect....trates/trites 0, ammonia 0, PH 8-3 to 8-4. AK 2.5, CA 380, phosphates .4 also. However again never monitored the CA or AK in the prev tank. I now have to add kent super buffer each day to keep the PH up. I also add CA daily as well. (seachem)
What can I do to get the coraline growth again? I actually did a water change of about 30-35% when I went from the 125 to the 100. I was told to start using Kalkwasser which I now have but havent used it. I only have 4 small fish and 3 shrimp and 1 anenome.
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 12:57 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 730
No worries. When I did a tank swap it took my tank 3 months to start developing coraline again. Keep your levels in check and all should be good.
__________________

__________________
Paintballs look like bubble gum
14G starphire,150W MH+32W act03,AquaClear 150 HOB filter, 75W EboJager, IceProbe chiller, Remora skimmer, closed loop SCWD mag5, auto toper-offer.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...lam/banner.jpg
klam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 01:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Well thats good to know. In the previous tank the coraline was groing on the pumps, covering the glass, everywhere!! now-nothing!! Wonder why this is?
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 01:12 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
The new, more intense light could have bleached the old coraline.
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 02:06 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Yeah thats what I thought as well..I assume it will come back?
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 02:12 PM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
.4 is a fairly high phosphate level, high enough to hinder coralline growth. I would try to get it down to .1 at the highest. Phosphates are one of the biggest detriments to corraline growth.
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 02:22 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Well I have brought it down from .6 to .3 over a weeks time but I cant seem to get rid of it totally...How do you get rid of phosphates? What causes them as I never had them in the previous tank? Also I have been using phosphate spounge in a bag and keeping the bag in the sump for 48 hours, then dumping that bag and replacing that bag with a new batch of phosphate granules for 24 hours...am I doing this right?
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help, many fish dying. DragonFish71 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 14 08-01-2009 01:56 PM
Im frustrated. :) tyrel Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 10-01-2005 07:14 PM
<-----Frustrated BOTLFED Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 02-05-2005 05:25 PM
Frustrated clowninround Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 01-19-2005 12:30 PM
Frustrated mattmku Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 17 01-03-2005 09:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.