Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-28-2005, 11:52 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shreveport La.
Posts: 5
Water

I have algee blooming in my saltwater tank. I was wondering if you can boil water already in the tank and reuse it again?
__________________

__________________
Nathan matzke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 11:54 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: California
Posts: 158
No man. Get some RO water or purchase an RO/DI machine and mix your own.

How would boiling water get rid of waste ? If you were to poop in a pot of water, then boil it, what would happen ? would the poo disappear ?
__________________

__________________
^_^
SirLight1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 11:59 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
Hmm. I agree boiling your water isn't going to help. You need to do regular water changes with clean premixed saltwater. How old is your tank? What are your tank parameters? Have you tested for phosphates? Is the algae green or brown?
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2005, 12:45 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shreveport La.
Posts: 5
Yes that was a good answer, But if it is algee bloom and I boiled the water for a short time to kill the algee and then put it back in the tank would that work? I am working with a 125 gal. with 2 emp 400 filters and a 304 canister filter. I have done several water changes in the last few weeks with RO water. and it is getting quite exspencive. just in the last week I have replaced 75 gal new water and the tank is still cloudy. I put a new protin skimmer on it and nothing seemed to collect in the cup so I thought I bought a ****** skimmer, so I brought it home and put it on my tank and it started working right away.
__________________
Nathan matzke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2005, 12:49 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gainesville, Florida
Posts: 346
Send a message via AIM to Brodie
When did you set up your tank? If you did recently, its just a diatom bloom. If it's been established and you're just now getting algae blooms, it's better to find out why you're having this problem. IMO, boiling your water is pointless. What are your water parameters?
__________________
Be ocean minded, keep our beaches clean.
Brodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water submersion switch to turn off filter pump if water helicopter DIY Projects 7 03-31-2007 05:54 AM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 02:44 PM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 03:25 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 10:12 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.