Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-04-2010, 09:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 218
Water changes

Your advice....When doing a water change when you replace water do you
replace it with the exact salinity or a lesser salinity in order
to keep it from going too high? Just wondering what is the right
way? Are there any additives safe to use in your aquarium? I get differing
opinions. Like phosorb or amquel and so forth. My phosphates are high
and wondered if that worked or what I need to do. Thanks for the input
__________________

__________________
FishFreak1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 11:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dannyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 438
  • Water Change - Removing water from the tank and and replacing it with the exact salinity or close to(On bigger tanks, Small tanks try get it exact.), same temp or close to as well.
  • Evaporation (Water Loss) - Your tank will loose water from evaporation, Top this up with RO/DI water preferably, If not RO will do. Try stay away from Tap water, But if needed then you can use it but it will raise your nitrate/phosphate levels and whatever else is in your tap water.
  • Additives - Water changes should be able to bring your phosphate levels down, And replenish water chemicals such as Calcium. If water changes aint doing it, Then try find the source of the problem. Eg, Not enough flow, Detrious, Better skimmer.. ect ect. You can buy yourself a Phosphate/Nitrate/Calcium Reactor, But water changes can do the same job if kept on scheduled.
__________________

__________________
dannyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 06:51 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 218
water changes

Thanks for the info. I have a 36 gal bowfront with a #1 powerhead,
seaclone 100 skimmer and use the 205 fluval filtration system. See
any improvements there? stronger powerhead maybe? I use an RO
filter for my well water that has no ph whatsover and I have to get
that up before I put it in. I need to check for phosphates there too.
Thanks for the advice. I am not wild about additives. I added some
ph buffer for freshwater accidentally and killed a few I have been
using same salinity at water changes and that seems to be working.
Been at this since October 09. Love it!!
__________________
FishFreak1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 07:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 218
Question Phosphates in well water

Just checked my phosphates in the well water and its there.
0.5. After RO filtered, before addition to tank.
Should I just live with that or do something else? Like the
reactor thingy?
__________________
FishFreak1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 08:12 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
it's best to have zero, but that's not gonna kill your tank.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 09:45 PM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Moving this to the SW general discussion forum.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 02:41 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dannyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 438
0.50 phosphate is quite high, You want it 0.05 or lower. Hard to acheive but thats for best colour and growth. 0.50 will not effect your fish.
__________________
dannyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 02:54 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
ryshark's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyb View Post
0.50 phosphate is quite high, You want it 0.05 or lower. Hard to acheive but thats for best colour and growth. 0.50 will not effect your fish.
I agree with this, and it is pretty close to impossible to get a true 0.00 Phosphate because even the saltwater mixes we use contain phosphate, typically around 0.03 depending on the brand. What are you using to test 0.50?
__________________
ryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 06:57 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 218
API Reefmaster Test Kit. Are they pretty accurate.
I have used that kit since I started this hobby. I
hope so!
__________________
FishFreak1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 09:49 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i don't think they are extremely accurate. i like salifert and elos.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
water changes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water submersion switch to turn off filter pump if water helicopter DIY Projects 7 03-31-2007 05:54 AM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 02:44 PM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 03:25 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 10:12 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.