Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-22-2005, 02:42 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: louisville, ky
Posts: 88
Send a message via ICQ to kukki
water changes?

i know there are alot of people that dont ever have to do water changes because of how their system is built and manages to self-sustain so to speak

what allows you to do such a thing... if all of your water readings are always say.. ammonia, nitrite and nitrate 0... pH always in the right area never changing... { as well as all of the others } .... and if you have a auto-top off system that works pretty good... what would you then need to ever change the water for?...

i guess im trying to say, what allows such a thing to happen where you can go water change'less - not really looking to myself, just a question
__________________

__________________
~kukki
kukki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2005, 10:01 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
I don't do very regular water changes, basically only to keep my calcium high and to clean out any junk that has settled into the sump.
__________________

__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2005, 01:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 426
I really never do water changes except after a major cleaning or something that really disrupts a bunch crap. But I have a ton of DIY stuff to auto top off with Kalk, a denitrator, and both a sump and a fuge of about 20 gallonas a piece. The only thing I do on a regular basis is test and adjust my trace elements. Other than that, I have actually found water changes to disrupt my system. In reality I think it depends on both your tank setup and philosophy toward adding things to your tank, some people only add minerals through water changes, I personally prefer using a combination of trace elements and specific addiitves. But remember, always test before you add things to the tank because too much is often far worse than not enough.
__________________
Hook'em Horns!
MadManMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
water changes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water submersion switch to turn off filter pump if water helicopter DIY Projects 7 03-31-2007 05:54 AM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 02:44 PM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 03:25 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 10:12 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.