Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-16-2006, 01:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
Water volume help.

anyone remember the equation to figure how much water a sump will hold?
I am interested in getting the Megaflow model #4 sump/filter from all-glass and Im trying to figure the water volume it holds to the maximum line which is 9 1/2 inches.it would be

36"l x 13 3/4"w x 9 1/2 h to max line divided by ??? I cant remember...
__________________

__________________
reefbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 01:47 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Divided by 231 I believe, but of course, you gotta figure on the fact that you can't keep it full anyway because of backflow/power outages. I'm guessing here, but maybe figure4 inches or so from the top depending on the size of the return lines and your tank.
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 02:14 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
yes it's 231 cubic inches in a gallon
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q...=Google+Search

to determine how much your water level will rise during a power outage is to fill it to the minimum and turn it on and let it run. Mark the water level with a peice of masking tape on the side of the sump. Turn off the pumps and let all the water in the hoses and overflows settle, then measure the new water level from the piece of tape. You need to leave that much space from the top of your tank to your "operating level" in the sump.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 02:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsdad
Divided by 231 I believe, but of course, you gotta figure on the fact that you can't keep it full anyway because of backflow/power outages. I'm guessing here, but maybe figure4 inches or so from the top depending on the size of the return lines and your tank.
Thanks for the number... The hole unit is 36'' long x 13 3/4 wide x 19''high
the 9 1/2 is to the max fill the rest is for backflow for an outage.
__________________
reefbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Water Volume = More Fish? Yao Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 03-09-2006 01:36 PM
Sump for increased water volume donf General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 06-22-2005 10:34 AM
main volume + sump volume = more fish????? Dr.Nate Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 05-17-2005 05:54 PM
beginner's observation about water volume - your comments? guitarded Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 11-24-2004 04:10 PM
Actual volume=tank volume-displacement from gravel, rocks... afFISHionado Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 08-20-2003 01:37 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.