With more equipment comes more questions...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

davebailey46

Aquarium Advice Activist
A year ago I started a freshwater tank...
6 months ago I read Fenner's book...
3-4 months ago I bought a used established 55 gal SW tank...
And now with all of your help, I am hooked...So for my birthday/christmas I bought myself the tank I really wanted (72 gal AGA with overflow). I am now planning the slow road to setting it up and transferring my stock by the new year. Now with this comes more questions. Let me tell you that I am an engineer for a woodworking company and have a computer controller CNC router that I can use to cut acrylic to any spec. and a friend that works for a glass acrylic company. So of course I'm going to build my own sump to my (educated?) specifications. I have spent countless hours on melevsreef but I still have a few questions:
1. I am obviously going to run the skimmer in the sump. I am leaning toward the CSS 125 (because of cost and the good reviews I ahve seen here). Any others I should really look at? Also does anyone know the operational depth of a CSS 125?
2. How should I plumb the sump? rigid on the supply with a shutoff valve and maybe just flexible on the return with a check valve? Does any one have a picture of their setup?
3. What Mag drive should I get for a 4' head height and to get the correct gph.
4. Also any tips for keeping the setup relatively quiet being that its in my living room?
Heres some specs on the proposed sump...
30"+long 15" tall 10" deep running in line Skimmer-Refugium-Return (supply coming in at the skimmer)
As soon as I can convert Autocad drawings to JPG I will attach the plans to show you all.
Thanks to you all for starting me off these last 3 months on the right foot (I cant imagine people who dont use these resources)