A few general questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dewiro

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Im new to the fish world and have a few questions. I have a 29 gallon tank.

First, as of right now I'm not using a heater, my room is warm throughout the year and without a heater my water is staying above 75 degrees, is this ok?

How long should I have my tank light on a day? Right now I have a timer set up to turn it on at 6am and off at noon.

Right now I have an albino channel cat, once it gets too large for my 30g its going to my friends 55g then into his small pond. I'm trying to figure out what kind of fish I should get. I really like the green spotted puffer fish but is it absolutely required to convert my tank to saltwater when they mature? I've read mixed thoughts from multiple sources on that. If so how hard is it to maintain the water level they require?

The kind of fish I'm looking for is something that can eat mealworms as Im already raising them for fishing bait and can eat small goldfish from time to time. I'm not necessarily interested in a fish that gets big, because I'd rather have multiple of them, and I don't intend on their primary diet being mealworms and goldfish but every now and then as a "treat".

How essential is an aerator and a bubble bar in a 30g tank? And how long does that need to be running?

Also are there any homemade ideas for fish shelters/decorations as the ones at my LFS are overpriced.

I have a lot of questions, and I'm sure ill come up with more. I'm just wanting to do the research and make sure I'm doing everything right. One person doesn't necessarily have to answer them all, and all positive feedback is appreciated. Thank you in advance