a few questions about the type of water --- water test parameters

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vromanowski

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone, I'm really stoked I found these forums (google). I'm new to this hobby, started a 10 gal about 2 months ago and I'm really enjoying it so far but I'd like to know a little more so I'm hoping some of you can answer a few questions for me.

My kitchen faucet has a pur water filter on it, so that's what I've been using so far, treating it first with a chlorine, chloramine, and heavy metal conditioner. I also have a pH tester and some balancing tablets that keep it neutral.
so my questions:
#1: do I even need to use the water conditioner if I'm using a filter on my faucet?

#2: I bought a few gallons of drinking water from walmart, the bottle says they're processed by ozonation, advanced filtration, and reverse osmosis. Is this OK for the fish or should I just dump that water out? I mainly bought them so I can use the bottles to always have extra water available, but if the water in them is fine for aquarium use that's a plus.

#3: I also saw bottles of spring water at walmart, is this OK for aquarium use? I know you're not supposed to used distilled water, but I wasn't sure which was better between drinking and spring.

#4. I read you're always supposed to test for water hardness, but I'm wondering how necessary that is if you're using filtered/bottled water.

just use straight tap water with some water conditioner... dont use those tablets for a neutral ph, they'll foul up your water and end up killing your fish. Just as long as the ph is stable, dont worry with it. The main things you need to test for are ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and ph. The API Master Test kit contains all of them and is a great kit to start with.