Curious of varying opinions and practices

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dwhit13

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm still very new to this and if anything I'm suffering from information over load. I currently have a 55 gallon up and running and over stocked
I also am purchasing another 55 on Thursday

My curiosity is what are the opinions and practices of the veterans here when it comes to how many fish to stock. I know the inch a gallon rule but also have read here some believe that to be an out dated concept.

How do you approach it. I. Def intend to be much more meticulous and better planned on the new one

A lot depends on what fish you hope to keep in this tank. The 1 inch per gallon rule really only applies to smaller fish and the use of common sense. (You can't put a 10" oscar in a 10 gal tank, sort of thing.)