Cycling??? please explain

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dylanling22

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So i am still extremely new to this, and was reading around and heard a lot of people discussing cycling and how its important. I started a 10 gal tank without cycling (consciously at least)and the fish seem to be doing fine they've been fine for the past 2 months without any fin damage or death or anything like that. I just recently acquired a 30 gal that I've refurbished (or 40 but i think that might be irrelevant here) and was thinking that i might need to cycle it before i get the fish into it this time.
Can someone please explain what cycling is in noob terms, why its necessary and how to cycle a tank??:huh:...also should i cycle my 10 gal? I've seen that its possible to do it with fish in tank or since the fish are doing fine should i just let that tank be and only focus on the new one??:confused:

Cycling is a building up of beneficial bacteria. The first group of bacteria converts ammonia to nitrite and the second group converts nitrites to.nitrates.

Ammonia is produced through fish waste and leftover food. It's extremely toxic and needs to be kept under 0.5ppm. It can cause ammonia burns to the gills and a lot of other damage as well.

Nitrite is also highly toxic and needs to be kept under 0.5ppm.

Lastly nitrate is less toxic and needs to be kept under 40ppm. Lower nitrate levels are directly related to effectiveness of the immune system. With ultra low nitrates a fish can fight off many infections preventing death.

If you get a reading above the recommended levels then just do a 50% water change to rectify. Cycling generally takes about 2 months and if you have 0ppm ammonia along with 0ppm nitrite then your tank is considered cycled.

Cycling a Tank With Fish

Hello dyl...