Freshwater fish compatible with Serpae Tetras?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Abigail06

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi I have a 60 gallon planted tank with ten Serpae Tetras in it. They've been in there for a few weeks now by themselves and sometimes they school nicely and other times they chase and nip each other. My tank has been cycled and all its levels are good. After I bought the Tetras I heard they can be nippy. I should have researched them more but I assumed since they were Tetras that they were good community fish but I'm having a hard time finding compatible fish. I would like some bigger centerpiece fish they stay near the middle to top since the Tetras stay towards the bottom. Any suggestions would be appreciated. I'm fairly new to this.

I'd call serpaes "semi-aggressive," since they largely limit their aggression to among themselves if in a large enough group. Your school of ten should keep them plenty busy with each other.

That said, I'd be hesitant to put temptation in their way by introducing fish with long, flowing fins, either. :eek:

As for tankmates, Bolivian rams might be a good choice.Or hwo about a second school of a tetra their size or larger, such as Colombians: Colombian Tetra (Hyphessobrycon columbianus) Profile

:fish1:

Serpaes are not THAT aggressive, only nip at long finned fish like Guppies...

Corydoras catfish, Zebra Danios, other tetras all work with the serpaes.

Bolivians are a great idea, electric blue acaras would also work nicely together! Another idea is 1-2 Gouramis, they would also make a cool centerpiece fish.

Would Gouramis be ok with the Serpae Tetras because of their fins and they're slow? I'll definately look into the Bolivian Rams and the electric blue acaras. Thank you for your replies!