Frozen food

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nkoyko

Aquarium Advice Freak
So I bought some frozen blood worms but I have a ton left over from the little cube. Can I save what's left for later feedings?

This is my first time using frozen food with the fish and frogs. The female betta only ate 1, the frog's ate 4 a piece and could have kept going, and Fred wouldn't touch it. How do you make a thawed blood worm look better to an old betta?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Soak it in a little diluted garlic juice maybe? Fish like garlic. I store unused portions in the fridge but only overnight and them feed the rest the next morning. Might just try to shave some off a cube next time. Also I'm not sure how many people know this but some people are extremely allergic to bloodworms so use caution. I have dedicated turkey basters and baby med droppers for feeding along with plastic containers for thawing etc.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I didn't know that.

The blood worms I got come in a little pre-packaged disc about the size of a penny and inch high so i just defrosted them in the package. I'm using a pair of tweezers that are dedicated to tank stuff to grab the worms and put them in the tank. I tried an eye dropper but the worms were too large and became stuck.

Not sure the boyfriend will enjoy the worms in the fridge. I had to hide the package in the back of the freezer and I'm hoping he doesn't see them because he will freak out.

Lol. I use baby medicine droppers for small amounts. They can be found in any pharmacy. I've read the allergic reaction can be very serious. I bought my own dedicated small fridge. Can put much in the freezer section tho.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk