Goldfish tank filtration

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

twoodrough

Aquarium Advice Freak
What exactly is accomplished by the increased overturn in water in a goldfish tank?

The solid waste will sink to the bottom and be syphoned. The liquid waste will pass through the filtration system and convert to nitrate no matter how many times is it turned over. What does double filtration do?

I am being picky here. But I want to know the "why's" before I get a tank.

It makes water changes a lot easier. Anything caught in the filter also goes through faster ammonia to nitrAte conversion. Thus less exposure of ammonia or nitrIte. Also its unsightly to see poop on the substrate. Goldfish poop a lot.

Minimum 50% water changes required. I'm no expert, but goldfish grow too big for a home aquarium. They below in a pond.

Terrance said:
It makes water changes a lot easier. Anything caught in the filter also goes through faster ammonia to nitrAte conversion. Thus less exposure of ammonia or nitrIte. Also its unsightly to see poop on the substrate. Goldfish poop a lot.

Minimum 50% water changes required. I'm no expert, but goldfish grow too big for a home aquarium. They below in a pond.

Fancy goldfish are fine in aquaria. Black moor, pandas, etc. comets and koi is where it starts to get too big.

What exactly is accomplished by the increased overturn in water in a goldfish tank?

The solid waste will sink to the bottom and be syphoned. The liquid waste will pass through the filtration system and convert to nitrate no matter how many times is it turned over. What does double filtration do?

I am being picky here. But I want to know the "why's" before I get a tank.