Help! Filter problems.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sturgcl1

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi there, hoping someone can help me with my filter which is driving me crazy! I bought a2nd hand tank from a guy off ebay, lovely rena panoramic which came with a fluval filter. Thought I was getting a bargain but have had nothing but problems. I'm new to these large biological filters, last tank I had was much smaller and had an internal filter. The problem I have is that the filter keeps stopping, I check the tank twice a day & often find the filter has stopped. It's very strange because it sounds like it's running, but there's no water coming out. I have to pump the little lever like mad for a few minutes & a tonne of air comes out, it makes a lot of noise then it starts up again. I also have a real problem if I clean it out, sometimes when I switch it on again nothing happens & it takes a lot of messing about to even get the motor running.
i have spent so mych money on this tank the thought of getting a new filter doesnt exactly please me, but I dont want my fish to suffer. Does anyone know what could be wrong? Also how long does it take with no filter running for it to cause a real problem? hours or days? I guess it's ok while I'm here but if I ever went away I would be in real trouble.
i had to put a fine mesh over the intake top stop shrimp being sucked up, could this be causing the problem? I've checked there are no leaks etc.

Thank you