HELP WITH NEW SYSTEM

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nawlins9175

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am a complete rookie to aquariums but want to take the plunge so I need some advice from all you experts out there.

I am planning on buying a 46 gallon acryllic setup this weekend and need some help on what else I will need for a nice freswater setup.

First off, how do you feel about acryllic vs. glass setups? Pros / Cons

What else do I need? I'm thinking about getting a Rena XP2 or XP3 filter? Is XP3 overkill for a 46 gal setup? Do both models have inline heaters and will I need an additional heater if I go with one of these models?

Air pump or powerhead....what are these for and do I need? Brands / Models suggested?

Water conditioner?

Should I buy a setup with wet/dry filtration system already installed? Pros/ Cons?

Anything else that you could think of would be a big help for a rookie?

Thank you so much and this site is so cool? Never knew anything like this existed.

First, acryllic scratches easier than glass. But it is also lighter and more durable. If it's in a place where it could get scratched up alot, then I'd prefer glass instead. But if not, acryllic is good also.

As for filter, the XP2 will do you just fine. Or if you want the extra filtering media, then the XP3 is great as well, and can also turn the flow down if needed.

As for the heater, inline isn't required with them, but they come in handy. Gives you the ability to heat the tank without the clutter of a submersed heater in the back of the tank. I'll personally have inlines from now on. the Hydor ETH 201 and 300 (both are 5/8 inch) are the ones that fit the XP2/XP3 as well. The ETH 200 (1/2 inch) is a smaller fitting size.

With the flow from the XP2/XP3, no need for a powerhead.

Water Conditioner: Prime....