how do make brackish water with a gravity of 0.010

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I am very new to aquariums and im hoing to get red clawed crabs. I read that they need brackish water with a gravity of 0.010 and i have no clue how to do that. I have aquarium salt and a 10 gallon aquarium, however i will not be filling it up all of the way so that there is still dry land 4 the crabs. PLZPLZPZL help me!

PowerRanger said:
I am very new to aquariums and im hoing to get red clawed crabs. I read that they need brackish water with a gravity of 0.010 and i have no clue how to do that. I have aquarium salt and a 10 gallon aquarium, however i will not be filling it up all of the way so that there is still dry land 4 the crabs. PLZPLZPZL help me!

Use SW salt and get a hydrometer to measure SG so it's close, if you need it exact a refratometer works better. I'm cycling a a tank for brackish right now so I'm just learning too, but will following :).

i dont have a hydrometer and i don't have enough money for one is there like a specific salt to water ratio for a gravity of 0.010?

PowerRanger said:
i dont have a hydrometer and i don't have enough money for one is there like a specific salt to water ratio for a gravity of 0.010?

That I don't know. But from what I've learned, a hyrdometer is a must when mixing up SW or BW, so I don't think you can eyeball it if you want it right.

You do need to get one, it's that simple, for keeping things which need a specific environment it's just as essential as the salt itself. If you can't afford one then you should probably wait or you'll just eventually have the wrong amount of salt in there and not know it.