Looking for compatible fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

donnaR

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to this forum, this is my first post. I am also new to aquariums so please bear with me!

I decided 2 weeks ago that my son needed fish, so off I went to the store and bought a 10gallon starter kit. I set it up, put all the necessary stuff in the water (to take the chlorine out, take care of fish waste, fin fixer, freshwater salt.....), and let the tank sit filtering away for a week.

The gal who helped me at the fish store couldn't have been less helpful. I had NO idea what to get, but she basically left it up to me, so I went for colourful and selected Rosy Barbs. She suggested 2 males cause they were more colourful. Well you experienced folks probably can guess that didn't go so well. All they did was peck and poke at each other, fairly aggressively. So I called the store the next day and a different person told me it was because they were both males, so thought I should balance the tank with a couple of females. So back I went to get the girls. There was peace in the aquarium for a day, then they were ALL AT EACH OTHER. By the next morning, one of the males was dead and the remaining 3 were fighting for tank domination. I called the store and I was told that barbs do this, peck at each other, they are semi-agressive. I didn't want semi-agressive, I don't want a dead fish every morning, just a nice happy tank. She said I could come in and exchange them.