Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-03-2011, 06:35 PM   #1
member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 10
Unhappy Nitrites not in my tank

Is there anything in a fish tank that can prevent nitrites? Because my 10 gallon has readings of ammonia and nitrates, but no nitrites, and its been like that for the past month.
__________________

__________________
soccerstar6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 01:27 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 25
ammonia and nitrites should both be at 0
__________________

__________________
nategi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 01:37 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,067
Going off the information in your signature, it sounds like you are cycling your tank. Therefore, you would want ammonia and nitrites - at least at first. Do you have fish in the tank or are you doing a fishless cycle?
__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 02:27 PM   #4
member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 10
Yes, i know that it's cycling, and that's why im worried about no nitrites in my tank. I am doing a fishless cycle, i put a raw shrimp in a media bag to cycle it. Any ideas how this could happen?
__________________
soccerstar6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 02:32 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishies86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Isle of Wight, UK
Posts: 791
Have up tested your tap water? Ours is about 10ppm nitrates, so when we were cycling we had ammonia and nitrate for about 5 weeks, then two weeks with all three. The tank is now fully cycled and we keep the nitrates down with plants
__________________
Fishies86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 02:46 PM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 10
Yes thats it, i have .5 ammonia and 5 nitrates. Is there a way to get rid of it?
__________________
soccerstar6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 03:05 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishies86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Isle of Wight, UK
Posts: 791
As I say, plants will help. Plants need potassium, phosphorus and nitrogen to survive. Ammonia, nitrite and nitrates are fantastic sources of nitrogen, and once established, plants will suck it up.
It might be worth checking all the different water sources in your home. Our kitchen sink is 5ppm nitrates less than our bathroom taps.
Nitrates are safer than nitrites or ammonia, so at those levels, I wouldn't worry about it too much.
__________________
Fishies86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 03:07 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishies86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Isle of Wight, UK
Posts: 791
Sorry, just realised it sounds like I've said .5 ammonia is safe. .5 ammonia (or any level) is toxic to your fish. I'm not sure how to get rid of ammonia straight from your tap because I've never had that problem myself. The only thing I can think of without using chemicals is to put lots of plants in your tank.
__________________
Fishies86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 01:46 AM   #9
member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 10
Thanks(: I will do some research on if there is anyway to get rid of nitrites.
__________________
soccerstar6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 02:11 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Engel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 131
So if there are nitrates present in your tap water then the cycling process may take longer? Or do the Nitrates just spike along with the ammonia until the nitrites show up? Nitrates can't prevent nitrites from establishing all together can they? I thought I was understanding this... I HATED chemistry.

Soccerstar, have you considered using jugs of water from the store for your tank? It may initially be a little costly, but not so much later when you're doing pwc of 25% every two weeks after things are established.
I know now that you have to be sure the water is not distilled, and has carbonates and bicarbonates for buffering. You can buy a few and use your test kit to test the alkalinity of each. I understand that is what indicates the water's buffering capacity.
If you've been at this a month though, you may want another alternative than starting over!
__________________

__________________
Engel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrites, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BioSpira in fishless tank showing nitrites - what to do ? joannde Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 19 05-06-2006 10:43 PM
nitrItes in new tank manda Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 03-07-2006 09:29 PM
nitrites in a cycled tank crazyred Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 11-10-2005 11:27 AM
New 180 Litre Tank (High Amonia & Nitrites) brett_mil Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 03-17-2005 07:14 AM
prob with nitrites and nitrates after 6 month old tank... AnnnetteM Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 13 03-15-2004 11:18 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.