ODNO for 29 gallon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FMJnaX

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I didn't want to continue to hijack the original thread located here so I created a new thread.

So anyway, I'm going to try and overdrive a simple F20T12 bulb; which is a 20W 24" T12 bulb - usually the standard bulb with any basic 30" hood for our 29 gallon tanks. greenmagi has been a HUGE help thus far so I figured I could just keep everyone informed and use this as a project thread as well as a Q & A thread about overdriving.

If you read through the original "lighting and cost..." thread, then you would know the basics that we're looking at. If you didn't, then let me list out my best explanation of ODNO and what we'll need to do this. I'm not an expert and I'm not going to pretend that I know exactly what I'm doing. If anyone needs to correct me, please do so. I'm just going to explain what I know in "newbie" terms.

ODNO - What is it?
ODNO stands for Over Drive(n) Normal Output. In a short description, it means that you're taking your standard fluorescent bulbs (normal output) and overdriving them by increasing the power given to them. I've read that it may work for incandescent, but that would be for a different story/thread. Trying to relate the overall project to other examples that people often try, here's what I've come up with:
  • 1) For the computer freaks - overclocking your CPU. You increase the voltage to it and get a higher clock speed (e.g. a 2.0GHz P4 can get a 3.0GHz rated clock speed). Of course, there's more to it that we won't get in to.

2) For the automotive freaks - added something like a performance chip to your car or adding a larger throttle body, exhaust, NOS, etc, etc, etc

3) Well, I can't think of anymore right now. lol