Please help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rebeil

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Alright let me start off by saying I am far from a fish expert. I have had a goldfish tank for about 7 months. I chose goldfish because they are my favorite fish. My fantail has been with me this entire time and has tripled in size and eaten very well and just over all thrived in my tank. On Sunday I moved (down the street) so I put my 4 goldfish in a 5 gallon bucket and filled it with the water in their tank and emptied the rest of the tank. I immediately set up their tank at my new house but my boyfriend threw away their carbon filter and I had to replace it.:facepalm: I put their gravel in it and the water they came in and added new (treated) water. The problem is 2 of my fish were extremely stressed out and I lost one of them last night and it seemed my fantail was getting better but today he has been swimming sideways and laying sideways on the tank and he has faded quite a bit in color.

So I guess my question is what can I do to help him? If anything?

Hello. I'm sorry for your loss.
I'd start off with a large water change.
What size tank?
What are the ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and pH?
So the whole filter cartridge was thrown out?

+1 for large water change.

My guess would be a spike in nitrogenous waste from the move (a combination of stirring up detritus in the gravel and the loss of your biological filtration). Test your water before you do the water change( if you can) and after.

Probably not from pH as you just moved down the street. Temperature could be a factor too make sure any water added in large quantities is +/- only a few degrees of the tank temperature.

Good luck :) and sorry for your loss.