A Goldfish that's not a Goldfish. . . ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PandaFishy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all,
I am relatively new to the aquarium world and am looking to get a fish for my 5 year old daughter. She likes how the goldfish at the store would follow her finger and open their mouths like they were trying to eat it. I was going to get a goldfish but was told that due to their excessive waste I would need to clean the tank much more often than the beta I previously had and I do not want something that I have to clean so often. This sounds silly asking, but what kind of fish is similar to a goldfish as far as the following/eating finger tendencies, but has upkeep relatively similar or less involved to having a beta fish? I would like it to be about the same size as a goldfish or slightly smaller but not something tiny like a nanos or neon tetras. Besides those very specific features, I am open to anything and don't care about appearance at all.

Interesting question.

Which type of Goldfish did you see at the store? There are quite a variety of GF, and some get 12-18 inches long and others maybe up to 6".

It is actually great to see how the fish store person would caution you with a GF. They have special needs, mainly space and water filtration.
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/foru...uire-big-tanks-visual-perspective-265871.html

What size (gallons) tank would you have room for? GF are social and usually like a friend. It is not out of the question, but more work and a larger tank than usually needed for a Betta.

Welcome to the community! There is a link in my signature of this post which discusses fish care and keeping a tank. Very helpful and full of useful information.