Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-29-2012, 11:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cynic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,272
Prime / Water Change query

Hi all,

Just a quick query in regards to how people do water changes.

My current process is...

1. Drain old water
2. Switch off filter
3. Add Prime
4. Add new water
5. Wait 30 minutes
6. Switch on filter

My question is whether or not it's necessary to wait the 30 minutes before turning the filter back on? Or whether or not the filter should be turned off at all?

Cheers in advance
__________________

__________________
Cynic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 11:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
aquabeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 579
my canister is the only one that gets turned off. the tubes from my HOB are so long that they pick up water half empty.lol i usually just empty about 50%, put new water in of same temp, add dechlorinator, and add my new dose of ferts for my plants and im set. i guess it helps as a less shocking situation for the fish to wait a little. or not to have water sloshing everywhere while the tanks being emptied.
__________________

__________________
aquabeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 12:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cynic View Post
Hi all,

Just a quick query in regards to how people do water changes.

My current process is...

1. Drain old water
2. Switch off filter
3. Add Prime
4. Add new water
5. Wait 30 minutes
6. Switch on filter

My question is whether or not it's necessary to wait the 30 minutes before turning the filter back on? Or whether or not the filter should be turned off at all?

Cheers in advance

I do it the same way except my filters stay on unless I'm doing maintenance on them also. Ohh don't forget to turn off your heater when draining water.
The way your doing it is fine imo if your worried about killing your bacteria then don't be Prime takes care of it. Everyone does water changes a little differently its just all about personal preferences. Your good
__________________
Daxhua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 12:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
I don't think you'd wanna run your filters dry during a water change, you may burn out something and why benefit is there to running it with no water flowing?

I shut everything down. I just turn off the surge protector and drain tank to desired level. I then add Prime and my Excel. Then temp match and refill. Once tank is filled I power up everything and I'm done. The AC 110 sometimes needs a little help so I'll add some tank water to it to help prime it. My fx5 is self priming so no issues there.

I'm interested in why you would leave the filters running dry. I would that would be bad for them wouldn't it?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 01:40 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
MartyMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Peabody, MA
Posts: 127
Is there a reason to add prime to the tank instead of to the water that is being added? Does it matter? I add new water to a water cooler, add in prime and then refill the tank with the already 'primed' water. It seems to work okay.
__________________
60g - Lot's of endlers and 4 P.Taeniatus Moliwe (and babies)
20g Long - a few endlers and RCS
20g Long - Chilli Rasboras, Scarlet Badis, RCS
29g SA biotope - many SA inhabitants
MartyMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 03:58 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161
I don't think you'd wanna run your filters dry during a water change, you may burn out something and why benefit is there to running it with no water flowing?

I shut everything down. I just turn off the surge protector and drain tank to desired level. I then add Prime and my Excel. Then temp match and refill. Once tank is filled I power up everything and I'm done. The AC 110 sometimes needs a little help so I'll add some tank water to it to help prime it. My fx5 is self priming so no issues there.


I'm interested in why you would leave the filters running dry. I would that would be bad for them wouldn't it?
I don't run my filters dry. I drain 50% of water from my tank but the intakes on my canister filters are well below the water line so they don't run dry.
Besides who said anything about running filters dry that's silly.
__________________
Daxhua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 04:13 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daxhua

I don't run my filters dry. I drain 50% of water from my tank but the intakes on my canister filters are well below the water line so they don't run dry.
Besides who said anything about running filters dry that's silly.
Haha I guess I just figured. If I do a water change I'm the same and ya know what? Never thought of that! My fx5 is well below that also. It's my AC 110 that needs to be shut down.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 02:18 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 182
That's one of the reasons I don't like HOB filters, just annoying to get them going again.
__________________
Daxhua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 02:22 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Cornstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New York City, USA
Posts: 914
Send a message via AIM to Cornstar Send a message via Skype™ to Cornstar
I turn off everything similar to convict. The heater can easily burn out, I burnt my aquaclear 300 that way.

When I plug in my filter it automatically works. So I like it.
__________________
"Life is not about how hard you can hit, but how hard you can get hit and keep going"
Cornstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 07:01 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
OscarFan76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 340
I turn everything off, water/prime, and turn it back on immediately. I do not wait. I haven't had a problem.
__________________

__________________
OscarFan76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, prime, rim, water change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type of crabs are fresh water? Ryleyman Freshwater & Brackish - Invertebrates 29 02-21-2013 11:42 AM
Dumbest thing done during a water change?!?!? savage Aquaria Off-Topic 75 03-31-2012 09:25 PM
Is there any type of fresh water crab tgat can stay in water? Ryleyman Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 03-30-2012 01:24 AM
can you use tap water davez79 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 25 03-29-2012 07:51 PM
Water Dfranks Aquaria Off-Topic 11 03-29-2012 02:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.