Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-09-2005, 09:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,082
Send a message via AIM to krap101
QT question

for quarentine, would it be okay to use ammochips? because some people cycle their tank every time they treat it, but i dont see the use since you'll have to cycle it again if you have to treat something.
__________________

__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 02:02 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 4,168
I have never used ammochips so I am not sure how well they work. Using some established filter media from your main tank is probably the way I would go. I know some people have an extra filter on their main tanks especially for that reason.
Also with some meds, you are doing daily water changes any way.
__________________

__________________
Meredith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 04:06 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
gheitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Champaign, Illinois
Posts: 1,260
Send a message via MSN to gheitman Send a message via Yahoo to gheitman
I'm not sure what to recommend here. I break down my quarantine tank between uses and get a filter sponge from an established tank to jumpstart the biological filter.
__________________
Gene Heitman - 12 tanks (11 freshwater and 1 saltwater), 206 gallons, 20+ species of fish/shrimp/snails, 52+ species of plants ... 10 years ago I just wanted 1 tank with some fish
gheitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 05:43 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Posts: 183
I have no idea what ammochips are but I have a qt question of my own. I want to fill up my qt tank but have no extra media in the main tank. I have a sponge filter for the qt tank so i just stuck it on the end of the powerfilter in my main tank. How long will it take for the bacteria to grow in the sponge??
__________________
obedey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 08:35 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 4,168
Im not sure. probably a few days?? What I did for my mom when she set up her tank was take some gravel from one of my tanks and I put it into a media bag and put that in her filter. It would at least be a start.
__________________
Meredith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 09:55 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Posts: 183
its a long weekend here and i wuz just going to put it in on monday so that might be enough time i hope. Its only a sponge filter so i cant put rocks in it.
__________________
obedey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 10:55 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,110
obedey - A week will get the sponge seeded but that does not mean that the bacteria population will be very high.

Danny- You could try it and see how it works. Report back and see if the Ammonia chips actually keep the levels low while QT'ing.
__________________
mattrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 12:34 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
The ammino chips sounds like a good idea.. try it out!
Im guessing your thinking of a hospital tank not a QT exactly right?
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 03:31 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Posts: 183
yeh sorta i want to put a yabby in there while she molts
cos thers a big male in ther that chases her.
__________________
obedey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 09:26 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,082
Send a message via AIM to krap101
maybe..

i had some feeder crayfish and some feeder whtie clouds in a icebox (like 15 gallons). i put some sand in there and put a corner filter (the plastic crappy kind) runned by an air pump with some floss and some ammo chips. the crayfish survived about a year with no waterchanges and fish flakes. i ended taking the white clouds out and putting them in my 29 gallon and their going in my ponds soon. so...
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2005, 07:22 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Posts: 183
thats mean I would feel slack not changing their water, even if they are feeders.
__________________

__________________
obedey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heater question and check valve question brigoody General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 11-17-2007 03:34 PM
Stupid question, but...Nitrite/Nitrate question AIKakashi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 04-11-2006 11:00 AM
Poop question...Gross I know. Wondering. And sleep question Melissamustang Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 01-23-2006 02:31 PM
Gravel question/ moving question Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 04-27-2005 07:40 AM
Sump question ... Lighting question. dansemacabre Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 10 07-27-2003 11:36 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×