Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-21-2003, 07:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Guienevere22 Send a message via Yahoo to Guienevere22
question about my gravel cleaner

I just bought a mini aquarium gravel cleaner and I put it together and went to use it, but the instructions don't tell me how to get the syphoning started. It doesn't say that its a self-siphon type of cleaner like some that I looked at in the store. I have a small tank, only 1 and 3/4 gallons of water. That's why I bought the mini cleaner. Is it still too big and that's why it won't work?

Thanks!
Lauren
__________________

__________________
Guienevere22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2003, 08:22 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
Does the large diameter portion stick out of the water? It may be difficult to start a siphon if that is the case. To help, the connection where the hose fits to the large diameter pipe must be absolutely air tight. You need to pull water through the pipe and hose (no air bubbles) until the water has gone over the top of the tank and is well on the way to the bucket, then it will work.
__________________

__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2003, 09:01 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,151
I think she means is the pump too small, what you do is put the whole thing under water until there are no more air bubbles, then put your thumb over the end that goes into the bucket, pull it out, put it into the bucket, and let go. This will do it, if Mark answered your question disregard this
__________________
If you don't love what you do, you'd better find something else to love. Otherwise, you don't have a reason for living.
-Ray B.
d9hp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2003, 09:02 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Guienevere22 Send a message via Yahoo to Guienevere22
I will try that to get it going thanks so much!

Lauren
__________________
Guienevere22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2003, 09:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,151
No problem... if that doesnt work there are other ways
__________________
If you don't love what you do, you'd better find something else to love. Otherwise, you don't have a reason for living.
-Ray B.
d9hp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2003, 09:20 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Guienevere22 Send a message via Yahoo to Guienevere22
Okay, I have another question, but it doesn't concern my gravel cleaner. I am having a problem with the level of ammonia in my tank. I did a 25% water change and the water that I added had 0ppm of ammonia and a pH of 7.0. I also used a product called Ammo Lock to try to reduce the levels. The levels are still high. Is there anything else I can do? And, does anyone know how often you can use Ammo Lock in your tank? I know I'm full of questions tonight. Thanks for all your help!

Lauren
__________________
Guienevere22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2003, 09:43 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Depending on what kind of test you're using, the Ammo Lock can cause a false reading. If the ammonia reagent that came in the kit says "Nessler reagent" on the bottle, you will get a false reading. With Ammo Lock, unless I am mistaken, the ammonia is still present...it is just bonded to some other molecule and rendered inert. Also, if your ammonia is very high, a 25% water change may not be enough to make a big difference. If you had a concentration of 4ppm, and you changed 25% of the water, you'd still have a 3ppm concentration. Don't forget also...you still have a nitrite spike to contend with after the ammonia is under control. This will take longer as the bacteria that processes nitrite grows at about 1/2 the rate of the bacteria that controls the ammonia. I think, and you'll need to verify this with someone else, that you can get a correct ammonia reading by using a salicylate type test kit...not sure I spelled that right, but it's close. Perhaps the LFS could test it for you and save you a few $.
Logan J
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2003, 10:20 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Guienevere22 Send a message via Yahoo to Guienevere22
I went to my LFS today and they recommended something to reduce the ammonia that goes in the tube of my under gravel filter, but they were all out and none of the other LFS have anything that will fit my filter. They said they should have some on Wednesday of next week, but I'm afraid that's too long. Do you think my fish will make it until Wednesday? Is it too soon for me to do another water change?

Lauren
__________________
Guienevere22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2003, 10:26 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Guienevere22 Send a message via Yahoo to Guienevere22
I just wanted to add that my ammonia tester is the Nessler one you were talking about. It says in the paper that came with the test kit that if you use Ammo Lock, it will still test positive for ammonia.
__________________
Guienevere22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2003, 05:08 AM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
You may have to do a small change every day to keep the levels below lethal. It's tough in a smaller tank because things can change so quickly. I would start testing for nitrite very soon if not now.
Logan J
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2003, 03:35 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,151
I agree with just doing a small water change every now and then, help you out millions.
__________________

__________________
If you don't love what you do, you'd better find something else to love. Otherwise, you don't have a reason for living.
-Ray B.
d9hp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clean, cleaner, gravel

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eco Lab's Gravel Substrate Cleaner? godslayer Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 09-21-2009 07:47 PM
Gravel Cleaner pinda Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 08-12-2007 10:38 AM
What NOT to do when using your gravel cleaner purple Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 23 06-12-2005 06:45 PM
Python Gravel Cleaner pilotfox01 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 05-12-2003 06:08 PM
Python Gravel Cleaner KP Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 01-23-2003 09:34 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×