Question on salt in freshwater

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Wy Renegade

Aquarium Advice Addict
First off, a little background info -

I'm an old school freshwater aquariast; I've been keeping multiple tanks for many years. My technology is certainly not current, and I'm trying to catch up on innovations that have occurred in the last few years. 90% of my tanks still run using a simple undergravel filter and powerheads for filtration. I'm trying to read through and gleam what information I can from threads - this of course has generated a few questions.

The first one, is the recommendation I've seen several times not to add any salt to freshwater tanks. When I was taught (many moons ago), I was told to always add 1 tablespoon of aquarium or pickling salt for every five gallons of water. I was told, that just as your body needs NaCl, so do fish or any other living organisms. I was also told to replace that salt every time a water change was done. Yet as I read through the various posts, I've seen several people indicating that no salt should be added to a freshwater aquarium.

Can any one address this form, and explain the reason for the change in thinking?

TIA

I think the salt was added more as a preventative measure. It helps ward against ich and such, and lowers the toxicity of ammonia to fish(slightly). Most water will already have sodium ions and other minerals which the fish do need for osmoregulation. Nowadays, with better filtration methods, there is no need for adding salt. I'm not sure whether it's detrimental.

--Adeeb