R/O Water Question.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Helyanwe

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I wasn't sure where to stick this post, its got a few things going on.
So to begin, I moved recently and found out that my tap water has a PH of about 8.2 or so... quite a bit higher then my previous place which had a PH of about 7.4 and with the use of Peat, I was able to keep it in the mid 6's.
Ive decided to switch to R/O water to achieve the softness I need, to get them breeding again. They haven't spawned since I moved here.
I'm new to the whole R/O water thing, Ive googled it and read a million things about it. Ive been left more confused than anything lol.
I tried doing a mixture of R/O up to 75% with 25% tap water for minerals, but I ended up with no changes to the KH GH and PH. So it looks like im going to have to use straight R/O with a buffer.

Now on to where I get confused, my Rams tanks are all planted. Ive read about Seachem Equilibrium, and Kent's R/O Right, and Seachem Flourish Trace, and Seachem Trace Elements, etc etc.... I don't know what in the world to use. I want to make sure I have a balance of Healthy Plant minerals and Healthy Breeding Rams minerals.

If anyone can help shed some light on this for me, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you. :)

The problem with RO water is that all the minerals are removed. It's almost like distilled water. That means no GH, no KH, both of which can be tested for.

Shrimp keepers use remineralizing products to get their water to the right GH or KH for the shrimp. Marine keepers do the same, but of course, use salt and may use calcium as well.

You might want to invest in a TDS meter. It measures total dissolved solids in water, minerals, organics, whatever is solid, it tells you, giving a numerical reading. Often used by reef, marine and shrimp keepers, it can be quite helpful.