Really LOw PH

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jane

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Please help I'm new at owning aquariums and clueless. I have a 33galllon tank. I set it up for a couple days, then added some feeder fish to it, everything was fine but then it started to get some sort of bacteria bloom, the tank got very cloudy and it didn't go away after afew days so I added something to clear the water. Since then my ph has gone from 6.6 to below 6.0. but the water is clear. I went to the store and asked for help but he said there was nothing I could really do and that I was basically a moron, and all I could really do is watch my fish die. So I did acouple 25% water changes to control the ph but it did nothing. Half my fish died so then I switched my fish into a different tank so they would live abit longer, while i did a 50% water change, but still it didn't do anything. Then all the fish appeared to get ick, they were covered in white and and their fins were dissolving. All remaining fish died except one, so I moved him to a separate fish bowl so he wouldn't die and the ick mysteriously left him, I think the water was so acidic it was eating them. Them I did a 100% water change, rinsed everything out and washed the filters until the water I washed them in tested at a neutral PH. Then I put everything back. The water was fine for two days and all of a sudden I have very high ph again.When I tested it, it is so bright yellow it's off the ph chart. Any suggestions?? What am I doing wrong?? I'm just about ready to empty it completely and just put a damn hamster or something in it. Or maybe some nice plastic fish. :?

Nah...you don't want a hamster...been there...done that. We need some more info about your setup though. When you said you put a "few feeder fish" in the tank...how many?
What kind of filtration do you have?