Silver Hatchet

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Alo96

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello, does someone have information about Silver Hatchets? I read its profile in LiveAquaria and it says that the Care Level is difficult, so I wanted to know how difficult it is and what do I need. Btw I am a beginner.

I think the difficultly rating, in this case, comes from the combination of a few things... they are schooling fish, are jumpers, prefer floating foods, like floating plants and above all are fairly sensitive to water conditions. I would maintain a weekly water change schedule with these fish, no skipping.

What size tank do you have? They also aren't fond of bright light, which is another reason why you need to get some floating plants if you decide to get them. They also jump less when they have floating plant cover as they feel more secure.

I have an 80 gallon tank. What kind of floating plants? What is an alternative to floating plants because I live in Guatemala and there is not much plant variety.

I'm planning on getting marbled hatchetfish, very similar species, later today. I'll tell you about them next week.

I have an 80 gallon tank. What kind of floating plants? What is an alternative to floating plants because I live in Guatemala and there is not much plant variety.

You can float almost any stem plant along with water sprite and wisteria. Also if you have any Tiger Lotus there, you could plant one and let some leaves go to the surface as floaters. Another idea is if you have Jungle Val available the leaves can grow 2-3 foot long and make a great floating cover. Off the top of your head do you know what kinds of plants you have available?