So many questions!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

newbie98

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all..
I'm brand new to the aquarist hobby and could really use some informed help! I have a LOT of questions, and I know I've made mistakes, but I'm trying my absolute hardest for my little dudes so please be patient with me!

I was completely misinformed by the worker at my LFS (shocker) and told keeping 3 fish (one Dalmatian mollie, a tetra and a bottom feeder I believe is a Cory catfish) in a 5.5 gal tank would be perfectly fine! Now I know to always come to the internet first. The fish seem to be doing great right now, but I would definitely like to upgrade them to a bigger and better tank and eventually add some new friends to the community, especially since I also now know tetras prefer to school and I feel bad for my little Harold in there without any buddies.. How long should I wait to upgrade as not to stress the fish? Any suggestions on a nice sized tank I should purchase when the times right? (I'm a teenager & live in my parents basement, so something huge isn't really an option.)