Stocking a 60 litre tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tommyk

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi.

Just a quick question.

I'm fairly new to fish keeping, I have a 60 litre tank, all cycled and fish seem really healthy. Water parameters are good ammonia and nitrites are 0 and nitrates are less than 5. My ph is approx 7.6 but I am working on bringing that down by doing water changes with rain water and ro water.

Currently I have 3 Cory's 1 small Pleco, ( the girl in the fish shop said he will get to a max of 12 cm) 2 buenos aires tetra and 4 mollies.

I would love to add a few more to the tank but I'm afraid of overstocking. I was thinking of adding some neon tetras as they are small. How many should, or can I add.

Or if anyone has other suggestions of what to add it would be greatly appreciated

Thanks for your help

Your maxed out, and should really think about upgrading soon. Most mollies can get around 4" so 4 of them really should be in 20g tank. The pleco should be identified, there really isnt any pleco that belongs in a 15g tank, a bushynose might work if there wasnt much else in the tank. You can never trust store workers. The cory cats should also be identified. Some of them are fine in a 15g tank, but some can grow over 3" and all corys should be in groups of at least 5. Furthermore, all tetras need to be in groups of 5 or more, so your buenos need some company. Im sorry for all the bad news, just trying to get you all the info about yor fish as possible. 6 buenos, 4 mollies, 5 cory cats, and 1 small pleco would be fine in a 30g, but not a 15g. If the 15g is your only option and you dont want to get rid of any fish, i would just add 3 more buenos and call it a day.

Thanx for the info people.

I'm tempted to upgrade to a 30 gallon this week. Just came across one in a local store for a reasonable price.