60 Litre/15 gal tank stocking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

EmmaLou89

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello,

Im new to the hobby. My tank has been cycled for a month and I added x7 Ember Tetra last Saturday and a male Betta on Sunday.

Please could someone advise how many more ember tetra I could add? I have a 60L biorb cube. It has live plants.

Also if I were to swap the ember tetra in the future for cherry barbs, how many of them could I keep as I know they’re slightly bigger than ember tetra?

Also please could someone advise me on feeding ember tetra? They’ve been on hunger strike for 5 days now. Betta is fine and doesn’t miss a thing.

Thank you in advance,

Emma

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

What are the tank dimensions (length x width x height)?

What is the GH (general hardness), KH (carbonate hardness) and pH of your water supply?
This information can usually be obtained from your water supply company's website or by telephoning them. If they can't help you, take a glass full of tap water to the local pet shop and get them to test it for you. Write the results down (in numbers) when they do the tests. And ask them what the results are in (eg: ppm, dGH, or something else).

Depending on what the GH of your water is, will determine what fish you should keep.

Angelfish, discus, most tetras, most barbs, Bettas, gouramis, rasbora, Corydoras and small species of suckermouth catfish all occur in soft water (GH below 150ppm) and a pH below 7.0.

Livebearers (guppies, platies, swordtails, mollies), rainbowfish and goldfish occur in medium hard water with a GH around 200-250ppm and a pH above 7.0.

If you have very hard water (GH above 300ppm) then look at African Rift Lake cichlids, or use distilled or reverse osmosis water to reduce the GH and keep fishes from softer water.

----------------