Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-16-2015, 01:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
JengoJengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 123
Talk to me about pythons...

Talk to me about pythons...I want to stop hauling buckets, but I dont quite get how they work. I understand that when you're draining the tank, it pours out into the sink. But, what about filling? I thought it wasn't good to put untreated tap water right into the tank without mixing in the prime, etc separately....


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Hi! I'm new here, but I've got the fish bug, and I've got it bad.

20 g Community
55g build happening now, plan: African Cichlid tank
JengoJengo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 02:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
You can add prime to the tank before filling and the tap will mix as it fills up.


Caleb

Sent via TARDIS
__________________

__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 04:00 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
JengoJengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 123
Ah ok. And does it hook up to any standard sink? Ours has an aerator that can screw off.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Hi! I'm new here, but I've got the fish bug, and I've got it bad.

20 g Community
55g build happening now, plan: African Cichlid tank
JengoJengo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 04:04 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
It will hook up to almost any threaded outlet. Non threaded ones you can *try* the universal cap but it's not always for sure it will work being so many types of faucets.


Caleb

Sent via TARDIS
__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 04:16 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
serena00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 383
So mine didn't fit, I simply went to Home Depot and bought a $4 converter piece. And I add the prime in before adding and never have had an issue. The water also drains at a decent pace and the fish kinda like it. Mine at least.... Always wanna swim under.


36g semi-aggressive
20g community
10g betta, nano fish, shrimp
3g betta
__________________
serena00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 04:34 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
JengoJengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 123
Ok cool. Thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Hi! I'm new here, but I've got the fish bug, and I've got it bad.

20 g Community
55g build happening now, plan: African Cichlid tank
JengoJengo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 04:34 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
JengoJengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 123
Now I'm just debating on 25 ft or 50 ft hose....

There's always something to think about in this hobby!


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Hi! I'm new here, but I've got the fish bug, and I've got it bad.

20 g Community
55g build happening now, plan: African Cichlid tank
JengoJengo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 04:39 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
I have a 75 foot for my 75g lol it's nowhere near a faucet.


Caleb

Sent via TARDIS
__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 05:41 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mikem691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,673
Also match temp and treat for the entire tank not just the % you change.
__________________
mikem691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 12:56 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 106
I take the sink end out the window when draining my tank it drains alot faster and waters my lawn. I just bought the shortest one i could and bought 100 ft of hosing from home depot to make it 150 ft. I can put a tank anywhere and not worry about my python not being able to reach.
__________________
200 gallon community tank
https://youtu.be/nyP-zxGVHTo
1972ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 05:31 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DazF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: London/Essex
Posts: 339
I ordered one of these bad boys a few days ago, cant wait to use it for this weeks water changes!


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
DazF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 10:07 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FWFishTanks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,459
They are convenient. Mine takes 25 minutes to half empty a 75 through the sink with the faucet off
__________________
guppies, mbunas, life is gr8
FWFishTanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 02:35 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 34
What is the python?
__________________
Matina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 05:34 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matina View Post
What is the python?

A snake of course!

Just kidding.. It is a hose that has a gravel vacuum on one end and the other has a valve that attaches to threaded faucets. You can fill/drain the tank a lot faster than buckets.


Caleb

Sent via TARDIS
__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 05:39 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 1,175
For anyone old enough to remember, a python is comparable to the things used to fill/drain waterbeds. People actually use the waterbed faucet attachments and make DIY pythons, as the store bought versions are not cheap
__________________
PassengerTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 07:15 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 34
Hmmm...so I could get a python and use it for my tank AND drain my water bed when I get ready to get a new bed....2 birds, 1 stone. LOL.
__________________

__________________
Matina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
python

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about pythons and pwc temperature Shellectra Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 04-27-2007 10:08 PM
How do these PYTHONS work? Smidge Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 13 02-16-2007 12:34 PM
Pythons garth7 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 11-17-2006 03:32 PM
pythons Newbneedshelp Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 11-08-2004 12:13 PM
For those with Pythons BrianNY Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 02-27-2004 06:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×