Tiger Barb question... too many in a 29 gallon????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

yankeeslover

Aquarium Advice Activist
hello and thanks for reading.. I currently have a 29 gallon tank..I am actually looking to get a 60 gallon next spring, but for now i have a 29 gallon...I have some experience with keeping fish but wont say im an expert. I have had this setup now for about 10 years.
My current setup has a aquaclear 70 filter..i also have an bubble wand in the back to give some movement. I do a 50% PWC once per week... I currently have 14 or 15 tigerbarbs(I cant seem to keep count as they too fast,lol) They have been established in my tank for about 1 year now..i love the tiger barbs.. i also have two Nerite snails in the tank. I would like to add 5 more barbs to this setup..that would give me a total of 19-20 barbs. Do you think this is doable with my setup and with my 50% weekly pwc? according to aqadvisor(not sure if this board recommends that site or not) but according to them I would have no issues with this setup.
Now assuming i can do this, do tiger barbs normally take to adding new barbs to there school? will the new barbs usually school right with them? i love the action that the barbs give... i was thinking of adding some cory cats to liven up the bottom a bit, but i have never really liked corys... im not a cory cat person.. so im thinking that adding 5 more barbs might just liven it up just a bit more for me......
i am a stickler for water changes and parameters.....thanks again...

hello and thanks for reading.. I currently have a 29 gallon tank..I am actually looking to get a 60 gallon next spring, but for now i have a 29 gallon...I have some experience with keeping fish but wont say im an expert. I have had this setup now for about 10 years.