Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-13-2003, 01:18 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: D.C.
Posts: 582
Send a message via AIM to ConanTheLibraia Send a message via Yahoo to ConanTheLibraia
Water changes out of a 29 to a 55

When I set up my 55, is it possible to transfer water from the water changes of my already cycled 29 and already have a cycled tank? Do you think I should fill up the tank a few gallons fresh tap water, every other time so its not all dirty water I'm putting in the 55?
__________________

__________________
My fish will kick your fishes butt
ConanTheLibraia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 02:11 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: australia
Posts: 140
um... the 55 gallon tank would not be cycled but would have a really quick start. THe bacteria that helps neutralize ammonia is in the filter and are attached to walls so water changes help but won't cycle the tank straight away. The nitrite has to build up in the new 55 gallon tank filter and it takes time
__________________

__________________
accept fate...don't question it
azn dreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 06:25 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 317
Send a message via MSN to wabyrd
Try transferring some gravel or filter floss. That will help jump start it quickly too.
wabyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
water changes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water submersion switch to turn off filter pump if water helicopter DIY Projects 7 03-31-2007 05:54 AM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 02:44 PM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 03:25 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 10:12 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×