Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-10-2019, 10:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 10
What Is The Best Way To Set Up A Sump Filter System?

I知 planning to get up a 90 gallon tank. I知 still deciding whether I should use canister filter or set up a sump system.

If I get my first sump is it better to buy a complete system rather than DIY? What specific feature should I get for the sump? How many dividers should I have for the sump?

Do I have a drill a hole on the bottom of my tank? How does your tank filter input and output design look like? Do i have to adjust the tank output flow rate to the sump to the same flow rate as the sump pump?



I知 using the 4 JC&P LED light from Amazon for $47 for my 90 gallon tank
__________________

__________________
lampro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 11:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,726
Honestly for a fw tank I壇 just use a canister filter. Never ran a fw sump so not sure how you壇 set that up but I can answer the other questions. You match your sumps return pump to your overflow system, it痴 best to get a stronger pump than you need and use a valve to meter the flow to match what you need. I always drill the back panel, 2 holes a drain and return.
__________________

__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 11:19 PM   #3
Ichthyophile


 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Northern California
Posts: 407
I much prefer a sump over a canister filter. Cleans and aerates better and is easier to clean. You only need two compartments in a sump. One contains the filter material and some substrate on which bacteria can grow. That section receives th outflow from the tank. After the water goes through that side it flows to the other side with the pump and is pumped back into the tank. If you have a glass tank, there's an overflow box that hangs outside of the tank and drains the water into the sump . The overflow box has a J tube that siphons water from the tank into it. Then there is a hose that pumps water back into the tank from the pump. You can DIY or buy a sump. They are pretty pricey but well worth it. IMHO a canister doesn't compare to a sump.
__________________
rlederer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 04:12 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 10
So i guess i need an overflow box, sump, and pump for the sump.
I am planning to use an overflow box that does not need to drill a hole in my tank. Does that mean i need a siphon break for the overflow tubing? to get the air out?
I am also planning to get the sponge section, bio media section, do i need two sections for the sump input and output?
How do you usually clean the sump?
__________________
lampro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 05:25 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlederer View Post
I much prefer a sump over a canister filter. Cleans and aerates better and is easier to clean. You only need two compartments in a sump. One contains the filter material and some substrate on which bacteria can grow. That section receives th outflow from the tank. After the water goes through that side it flows to the other side with the pump and is pumped back into the tank. If you have a glass tank, there's an overflow box that hangs outside of the tank and drains the water into the sump . The overflow box has a J tube that siphons water from the tank into it. Then there is a hose that pumps water back into the tank from the pump. You can DIY or buy a sump. They are pretty pricey but well worth it. IMHO a canister doesn't compare to a sump.


I致e never trusted those hob overflows, always fist felt like. A flood waiting to happen, but jmo. I致e always been of the mindset that if your going to do it do it right, not saying job overflows are wrong, because drilling a tank is really pretty easy.
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 06:13 PM   #6
Ichthyophile


 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Northern California
Posts: 407
If you buy a sump from Amazon or Marineworld or similar, they come with everything you need. No need to buy anything else except filter material. I use two filter pads in my sumps, one coarse and one fine. Just replace them once a week - takes about 30 seconds - and that's all you need to do as far as cleaning goes.
__________________
rlederer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 06:38 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 10
yea i am also worried about the hohb overflow might stop flowing then it would be a disaster... is there any way to prevent it with a siphon break or whatever?
what is your pump flow rate per hour?
do i need to clean the whole sump sometimes?
__________________
lampro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 06:51 PM   #8
Ichthyophile


 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Northern California
Posts: 407
I've never had a HOB overflow stop working. Basically all it is is a plastic box with a very coarse filter in it and it's easy to clean. Or you can skip the overflow box filter and there's nothing to clog the drain. It's really nothing to be concerned about.
__________________
rlederer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2019, 06:21 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
King Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,900
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlederer View Post
I've never had a HOB overflow stop working. Basically all it is is a plastic box with a very coarse filter in it and it's easy to clean. Or you can skip the overflow box filter and there's nothing to clog the drain. It's really nothing to be concerned about.
Ya I've had the motor go out or the impeller clog up and stop working. It's never overflowed. If it did, they're designed to overflow into the tank. Maybe if the plastic box cracked you'd get a leak.
__________________
King Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2019, 09:41 AM   #10
Ichthyophile


 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Northern California
Posts: 407
A HOB overflow for a sump does not have a motor or impeller.
__________________

__________________
rlederer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, set up, stem, sump, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New t5 and 370 gph canister filter, what's the best way to set up a quad t5 light.. floridaman Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 08-12-2014 05:57 PM
Best way / place to set up RO/DI catmel General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 12-31-2008 05:57 PM
Best way to set up water flow Caige Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 09-18-2008 12:01 AM
best way to set up closed loop alrmc4 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 21 06-15-2003 12:30 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.