Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-23-2017, 06:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

What is this hopefully safe worm?

It's all on the glass right above the water line.

Would throwing everything away and rinsing the plant get rid of it or would they repopulate? Should I throw away the plant also? I'm guessing the plant is Amazon Sword? I'm new to plants so I don't have enough knowledge and experience to ID. I didn't think to ask what it is when I bought the used tank. I dump the water that came with it, refilled it and added some snail before noticing these worms so maybe there was a lot more at first. There's about 7-10 in there.

Picture of it swimming is after I shake the tank; it's trying to swim back out.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170914_184212.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	215.0 KB
ID:	303963   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170914_184241.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	190.0 KB
ID:	303964  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170914_184305.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	224.9 KB
ID:	303965   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170923_125804.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	249.5 KB
ID:	303966  

Old 09-23-2017, 07:08 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular

What's in the tank besides snails? How long has it been established? Usually these microorganisms are the result of too much available food in the tank. If they've got plenty to eat, they keep populating.

Old 09-23-2017, 07:22 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by RetiredJedi View Post
What's in the tank besides snails? How long has it been established? Usually these microorganisms are the result of too much available food in the tank. If they've got plenty to eat, they keep populating.