Compatibility question?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KeeshyRee

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm pretty new to fw shrimp! I have a few ghosts I've kept in my 5 gal with adf frogs but if like to add some color. I'm assuming all shrimp like fish are not compatible so help me out here :). I love the bright colors yellow green and blue velvet can these work together pro's and con's of each the works! Also I'm on a small budget and have even smaller local options. Any good places that ship right and are cheap?

Sent from my SCH-R760X using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Anyone??

The only thing is that ghost shrimp have been known to get aggressive towards the dwarf shrimp such as cherrys and the yellows and blue velvets...if they don't go after the adult ones they will most likely eat some of the smaller ones

Oh sorry I'm planning on putting the ghosts in my 14 gallon with my neons. I was

Making sure that the other 3 were ok together. Thank you! Now I'll make sure bit to put them with the ghosts though

Oh well the colorful one will interbreed and could potentially lead back to their natural drab colors

If you are talking about mixing up the various colours of Neocaridina.. cherry shrimp are one of these.. then the earlier post is correct, they usually produce babies that have reverted to the brown or colourless wild form. So you can't keep red, yellow or blue one in the same tank.

But you can get other coloured shrimp to keep together and get the colour contrast. Babaulti shrimps come in green, oranges, reddish brick colour and probably some other colours, have live young, and cannot cross with any Neo shrimps. Same basic size as Neos, have a longer nose.