Future Shrimp Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Coyne

Aquarium Advice Addict
Picked up a 2.5g Fluval Spec today and set it up. Its to be the future home of some freshwater shrimp. As I have never kept shrimp before, I am open to advice and suggestions.
Also, this is my first time using Java Moss. How long until I should remove the string thats holding it down?

Attachments

• Front.jpg
    Front.jpg
    249.6 KB · Views: 125
  • side.jpg
    side.jpg
    217.4 KB · Views: 109
You may not need to remove the string as it will be covered with the moss. If it's xmas moss, it will take months of growth.

2.5 gallons is a bit small, but if you perform 2x water changes a week and not overfeed, your shrimp will thrive. Cherry shrimp will overpopulate a small tank so you will need to think about selling or re-homing into a 10G or larger. I have a 29G with Cherry shrimp and my husband calls it an infestation!

One thing you need to allow is time for biofilm to grow. Shrimp do not do well in new tanks, because they both eat biofilm and it appears to have some other benefits for them as well. It can take several months for enough of it to grow to keep shrimp happy.

You can, sometimes, get away with newer tanks if you really pack them with plants.. moss is not enough, though shrimp do love to pick at it. A sponge filter will be very much appreciated by shrimp too, they like to feed off them, and they never damage the shrimp, unlike HOB types which can suck them up.

I'd wait, if I were you, but if not, the shrimp may not live very long. It is just the way they are, it can't be helped. Also, juvenile shrimp do much better than adult shrimp do. Adults tend not to ship very well, and die more often from shipping related stress. Juvies adapt much better, so get young ones when you do.