Goldfish question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kirkland795

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have three young fancy goldfish. Two of them have a body length of 1in and one of them has a body of about 2 inches. I'm somewhat new to keeping goldfish so at first I had all three in a 15 gallon for 3 months. I quickly figured out that was not appropriate living conditions for them and I have recently moved them to a 60 gallon. They didn't grow for 3 months while in the 15 gallon tank since it was much too small. They have now been in the 60 gallon for two weeks. I was wondering if they can still grow to full size or if stunting their growth for a few months will make them stay small? Also I plan on upgrading their tank size as they grow.

What are you feeding and how often. You should have seen growth even in the 15g. Last hear I spawned some black moors and raised around to an inch or so in a 60 litre (13g) with a single sponge filter and somewhat erratic feeding!

Its all about water quality and optimum feeding in my experience.

Well the water quality wasn't the best since my ammonia was slightly elevated from having to many fish in the small aquarium. Even with frequent water changes it wasn't the best. The new 60 gallon is fully cycled and my ammonia, nitrate, and nitrite levels are good. I feed mostly flakes and a few times a week I give them frozen brine shrimp and deshelled green peas.

Welcome to AA!!! Lots of water changes (even if the parameters seem 'fine') and an excellent diet will be the most helpful for their future growth.