How many KOI?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

belairguy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
How many KOI fish can successfully co-habitate in a small pond? It's approximately 5 feet long by 3 feet wide, by apx 2 feet deep, with a continuous waterfall on a pump. Currently there's one 12-inch KOI and 10 5-inch small KOIs (small ones may be gold fish). It's in a warm climate at a home and I feed once per day. I wonder if the pond can sustain a couple more 12 inch KOIs. I'm new to this, at a new location. I wonder about the pond capacity for more large KOI and whether more large ones would get along with each other. Currently the environment looks stable with the big one getting along with all of the small ones.

You calculate pond volume in gallons by multiplying the length times width times depth times 7.5.

So on the measurements you gave, your pond is approximately 225 gallons.

There are many factors to take into consideration to determine whether koi are appropriate for any given pond, including the dimensions and shape of the pond, filtration system capacity and operation, water quality, whether there are plants, etc.
Most domestic koi can reach 12 to 15 inches in length. Japanese koi usually get much bigger - 22 to 26 inches in length.

The general rule of thumb for water volume requirements for koi in ponds solely based upon gallons of water are 100 gallons per koi. For goldfish, commons, comets and shubunkins require 20 gallons per fish.

A full grown domestic koi is going to have swimming and turning problems in your pond.

And in my personal opinion, your pond is not large enough for the koi you have, and certainly not for two more 12 inch koi.

The way the water looks has absolutely nothing to do with whether it's a healthy environment.

What were your most recent water chemistry results, and when did you last test?