New to outdoor fish....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SquishyFish

Aquarium Advice Addict
I have been keeping aquariums for about 12 years, most of that is saltwater experience. I am building a house that will be finished in about 3 months or so. In the back yard we are going to install a waterfall and a a decent pond. Those of you w/ some experience at this, what would you say are the top 10 things I should consider when installing and maintaining the pond?

General dimensions. 12ft irregular shape, 2-4 foot deep, water fall approx 4-5 foot high against the deck.

So..what would you suggest?

What more do you want? This post you made is very vague. Do you want pump recommendations, filter recommendations, fish types, plants, tubing size, waterfall boxes, skimmer boxes? You need to be more specific.

Well...if I were going help someone that had the same question about salt water, I would tell them that the top 10 things to address when setting up the tank are

fish only or reef, Adequate lighting, sufficient depth of DSB, adequate infauna, circulation, water parameters, what type of fish (aggressive or passive), what type of corals, and a clean up crew.

Alot of time, newbies dont know the correct questions to ask. Maybe I miss read your responce, but that was a little curt and blunt. You stated it was vague...how much more specific do you want than "What are the top ten most important things to consider when setting and maintaining up a pond?"

ok, I'll give it a shot.

#1. how much you wanna spend?

#2. diy, or pay to get one built? diy, you need some strength, skills, and smarts. lots of digging, hauling stone & dirt, and smarts for design/level/pump formulas, etc...

#3 What kind of fish/plants? Koi will severly limit your choice of plants, they get really big and uproot many/most plants.