Urgent 2 of 4 dead

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Actually the filtration isn't bad imo. Your algae is probably from the light. I just think the tub isn't cycled.

Actually the filtration isn't bad imo. Your algae is probably from the light. I just think the tub isn't cycled.

So the tub cycled for 2 weeks with just filtration and plants before koi and has been running for several months with koi. I am a bit new to pin d a but shouldnt that have been enough time to xycle properly. I did start witha pond starter which contained rhe bacteria start up before the first 2 week cycle

Typically a cycle can take between 4-8 weeks. The fact you have nitrites and I'd bet you have ammonia tells me you don't have the beneficial bacteria growth you need to keep up with the fish you have. With that said, it's not a huge deal, you just have to do more water changes.

2 probable problems. Water quality and some critter found the snack bar.

You have a decent idea to save the last 2 fish.

Fish-in Cycling: Step over into the dark side - Aquarium Advice
I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?! - Aquarium Advice

The article link in my signature would be a great redo beginning.

Hope these ideas help.

After reading these i think i see my issue, when i do maintence/filter replacements i am doing it incorrectly which i think is killing off large/all of my good bacteria and causing the water issues.

When i have been doing weekly maintenance i have been rinsing out filter media, to wash off algae, scum etc with tap water and placing back in the system.

(i do this same thing with my 10 gallon aquarium with goldfish) water levels came back to almost identical to the pond only slightly softer hardiness.