Wanting to start a frog tank.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TimeKeeper88

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm relatively new to the fish world and am wanting to start a frog tank with clawed frogs and maybe dwarfs. I know you shouldn't put clawed in with fish. I have a 10g filled with fish and a 5g for these little guys. Any advice or help would be great!

Welcome to fish keeping! Frogs are a great, low maintenence addition. I always love adding a new type of animal to my collection. Dwarf frogs and clawed frogs are "cousins" but not very similar. Sometime Clawed frogs are mislabled as dwarf frogs when they are young. Young clawed frogs and dwarf frogs have one distince difference: dwarf frogs have webbing on their front feet whereas clawed don't.

A five gallon tank is the perfect place to start with frogs. This suits 1 African Clawed Frog, but many more dwarf. I'd say about 6 dwarf frogs in a frog only tank. I recommend, for a more interesting look, to add either 2 frogs and 1 betta, or 2 frogs and a small school of neon tetras.

I'm not sure what African Clawed Frogs eat, but Dwarf frogs will eat a variety of things. They will accept bloodworms, shrimp pellets*, or any aquatic frog pellet. If the pellets are larger than this " they should be broken or crumbled, since Dwarf Frogs can easily be killed by a too large pellet causing intestinal blockage.

Dwarf Frogs are usually a little over $1 and I would recommend them over the clawed frogs for your tank.

From what I heard, clawed frogs are pigs and the dwarfs would be a better idea.

I'm relatively new to the fish world and am wanting to start a frog tank with clawed frogs and maybe dwarfs. I know you shouldn't put clawed in with fish. I have a 10g filled with fish and a 5g for these little guys. Any advice or help would be great!
Hello and welcome to AA! :welcome: